Journal of Diabetes & Metabolism

ISSN - 2155-6156


Study of metabolic control, body weight, BMI and BP in type 2 diabetic patients with insulin resistance with intensified insulin therapy

International Conference on Diabetes and Diabetic Nursing Care

September 20-21, 2017 Charlotte, USA

C Poojitha Reddy and Sabitha Chichilli

Kurnool Medical College, India
Diabetes Research Centre, India

Scientific Tracks Abstracts: J Diabetes Metab

Abstract :

Background & Aims: Type 2 diabetes is a heterogeneous group disease with variable degree of insulin resistance and insulin deficiency. Intensified insulin therapy [IIT] with pre-prandial regular insulin and long acting insulin overnight is superior to conventional insulin therapy (CIT) with pre-mixed regular and long acting insulin twice a day for glycemic control. Materials & Methods: 606 type 2 diabetes patients with insulin resistance, aged 40-50 years, duration of diabetes 5-6 years and taking insulin are taken up for the study from the daily O.P. of Diabetes research center, Sainagar, Anantapur, AP, India, from March 2016 to June 2017. Patients with two or less injections per day are regarded as CIT and more than 2 insulin injections per day as IIT. BP, body weight, BMI, HbA1c are studied at the beginning of the study and 6 months later. Results: CIT- n=167, IIT- n=439 patients receiving CIT at baseline had lower weight (p<0.05), BMI (<0.05) and BP (P<0.05). At reexamination after 6 months both groups had significantly lower HbA1c (p<0.001) body weight (p<0.001) and BMI(p<0.001), BP control was significant in patients with IIT (p<0.001) Conclusion: Metabolic control in terms of HbA1c does not differ between IIT and CIT but BP control and quality of life was significantly better in patients receiving IIT.

Biography :

C Poojitha Reddy is a final year (part 1) Student at Kurnool Medical College, Kurnool. She has participated in National Science Congress and won 1st place for her presentation on Biodiversity. In NCC, she has been selected as “Best cadet of Andhra Pradesh 2010” and received award from Prime Minister of India.